Latest Review

'Omnom' Review
David vs. Goliath

In a city whose burger landscape is more and more dominated by big multi-restaurant players, sitting in a tiny parlor is actually kind of refreshing. Sadly, this alone isn’t enough to make Omnom an unmissable destination.

Editor's Picks

All Articles

'Das Eduard' Review
Surprise!

Das Eduard is a cosy bar with very friendly service, generally good kitchen and a couple of interesting burgers in the menu. Even though, admittedly, on some unlucky days you might receive an overtoasted bun or an overcooked patty, most of the times you will likely enjoy the same surprising experience that won us over.

July 4, 2019
'Klein Steiermark' Review
Sprichst du Burger?

In the heart of Schweizergarten there is a (not so) little paradise for carnivores. Klein Steiermark’s menu boasts a number of Austrian classic and seasonal dishes, a legendary rack of spare ribs and exactly one burger that, alone, could give a hard time to many of the specialized restaurants in town.

June 26, 2019
'Burger Bros The Mall' Review
Bro, Hit the Breaks

It’s not enough to serve a great burger to be a great burger restaurant. It’s not enough to throw in the cool logo, the predictable cow statues, the wooden tables and the design lights. Burger Bros The Mall serves delicious burgers, but forgets the essential ingredient: passion.

June 21, 2019
What's With the Negative Reviews?
Or the Importance of Honest Feedback

When I started reviewing burgers I was quickly confronted with a moral dilemma: do I have the right to write a negative review? Should a random person like myself dare judge a professional restaurateur’s work?

June 17, 2019
'Teddy's American Diner' Review
Viva Las Vegas

The premise is funny, if a bit corny: burgers and milkshakes in 50s American Diner, complete with red and white leather booths, vintage pin-up Coke ads and the inevitable Elvis playing in the background. Teddy’s American Diner will serve you ordinary burgers, and then win you over with his unexpectedly charming personality.

June 10, 2019
The Burger Reviewer's Best So Far
Mid-2019 Edition

Half of 2019 has passed, and the time has come to look back at six months of burger tasting.

June 9, 2019
'Laurenz4' Review
Holy Cow

After a while you think you’ve seen it all. The juicy, the dry, the safe, the experimental, the minimalistic, the over-the-top. Can a burger be still so bold that it truly surprises you? Have dinner at Laurenz4, you’ll see.

June 7, 2019
'Manzoni Burger&Steak' Review
Burger Pizza Mandolino

There is a widely known - but often misused - Italian expression that can be worth a thousand words, if delivered with the proper intonation, facial expression and hand gestures. So, picture a disappointed face and a strong accent on the first vowel when you ask “how was your experience at Manzoni?” and we frustratingly answer “Màmma mia…”.

May 31, 2019
'Said the Butcher to the Cow' Review
Say What?

You should never judge a burger by its cover. Very often a small and unassuming parlor might serve you a much better burger than a bigger and expensive restaurant. Unfortunately, sometimes we forget to consider the same thought from the other angle - a fancy restaurant might serve you a worse burger than an unassuming parlor.

May 23, 2019
'Weinschenke' Review
"This Is not a Burger"

A burger is like a frame to a picture: put a mediocre frame to an amazing picture and you’ll degrade the picture; do vice-versa and you’ll end up with a grotesque mess. The secret is in the balance, as well as in the confidence and honesty that you put into building your personal vision of a classic. Weinschenke takes this concept and somehow transcends it.

May 17, 2019
'Le Burger' Review
The Fine Line

In the world of hamburgers, the line between fast food and gourmet restaurants is often thinner than we care to admit. From time to time, places like Le Burger remind us that putting labels is an empty exercise, and that what really matters is ultimately just how satisfying an experience is.

May 10, 2019
'Die Burgermacher' Review
The Many Dangers of Overreaching

When we walked into Die Burgermacher we thought we were about to spend a normal evening, enjoying a promising burger in a nice-looking parlor. But at soon as we received our orders we realized that we had jumped into some sort of cosmic anomaly and that our table was right at the intersection of two parallel universes.

May 3, 2019
'Flatschers' Review
Welcome to Beef Heaven

The first world eats too much meat. In some cases, we eat it in such form and quality that it barely qualifies as meat, and we are left wondering whether it’s really worth the life of an animal and the impact on the environment. In some other cases, on the other hand, it is respected and elevated in such a way that we truly perceive its value as a food. Flatschers is without doubt one of the latter cases.

April 26, 2019
'The Burger Bar' Review
Have a Pizza Instead

From the moment you step into the door of The Burger Bar you start feeling betrayed in your expectations, and one adjective starts resonating in your head right away: generic.

April 18, 2019
Page 1 of 2